Spiced City Cake

Recipe Courtesy Bal Arneson
Show: Spice Goddess Episode: Kid's Menu

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 8

Showing 1-8 of 8

Sort by:

Newest
  • on November 23, 2013

    Flag

    This is a deceptive little cake. The first slice (or two is (are certainly edible but not amazing. Then the cake sits for two or three days and with that next slice you go wow! The last couple of slices are fudgy, both in taste and texture, with very slight but definite warm spice undertones. So good with a cup of joe after dinner or as a midafternoon snack. I made it twice, once with the lower spice amounts as listed on the Web site and once with the higher amounts the host used on tv, and I will definitely make this cake a third time with the host's higher amounts b/c that's the version I liked best.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on April 03, 2013

    Flag

    I have made this cake twice and I think its a favorite chocolate cake. I made it for family and I don't think they appreciated it.The fact that it's so moist is what I like, also the spices are terrific. I like to try new spice combinations. Good program.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 22, 2012

    Flag

    Really enjoyed this cake! Its not too sweet and the spices are lovely. Its very moist and a nice change from heavy desserts.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 15, 2012

    Flag

    A delicious and unique chocolate cake! If you plan to make this recipe be adivised that on the TV episode, Bal uses 1 cup raw sugar, 1 teaspoon ground fennel seeds, 1 teaspoon ground cardamom and 1 teaspoon white vinegar. Also, if you are wondering what type of vegetable oil she used on the TV episode, it was grapeseed oil, but she also said you can use canola or any type of vegetable oil you like. I made the recipe using the quantities I saw her use on TV. I topped the cake with an easy chocolate icing from Ellie Krieger that goes really well with this recipe. You make it by dissolving 1/2 cup confectioner's or icing sugar in a tablespoon of milk in a saute pan over low heat, then adding 1 1/2 ounces finely chopped dark chocolate and stirring until melted and having the consistency of thick pancake batter. (You can add more milk if necessary. While still warm, top the cake with the icing. Let icing harden completely before serving.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 22, 2012

    Flag

    This cake was extremely sinful, very different then what I was expecting. It was not overly sweet like most cakes, but still sweet and moist. A great spongy texture, melt in your mouth cake. Warning!- If you are not use to spices this might be a bit much. If you are use to spices this is very aromatic, warm and chocolately.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 19, 2011

    Flag

    Delicious! I baked in a 7 inch tube pan instead. Not quite as beautifully domed, but it shortened the cooking time by 10 minutes. Also added 1/2 tsp dried Orange peel. I have a weakness for chocolate and orange as well as fennel and citrus. Worked out really well. Will definitely be making this again... I like the quickness of assembly and then simply into the oven while I finish dinner. Awesome!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on July 18, 2011

    Flag

    I really like that the cake is not too sweet. My kids love it!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on May 04, 2011

    Flag

    So easy to make! The cardamom and fennel gave great flavor, and set it apart from any chocolate cake I've ever had. I made this just like the recipe, but in the episode Bal used twice as many spices and I will try that next time since they were so good.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Carnival Eats

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.