Spicy Mexican Hot Chocolate Cookies

Recipe courtesy Neely Dozier

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

5

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 13

Showing 1-10 of 13

Sort by:

Newest
  • on March 08, 2014

    Flag

    I used Chipotle Chili Powder in place of the Cayenne Pepper and it might not have been quite spicy enough, but great nonetheless!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on February 17, 2014

    Flag

    Made these tonight for the first time! Very good! They taste very much like some little chocolate "mice" cookies I used to make in the '90's...I'll make these again!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 26, 2014

    Flag

    great! made these changes: instead of 1 cup wheat flour used 3/4 wheat flour and 1/4 almond flour. Instead of 1/2 cup granulated sugar used 1/4 granluated sugar and 1/4 splenda, instea of 4 oz butter sed 2 oz butter and 2 ox coconut oil, increased cayenne pepper to 3/4 teaspoon. Baked for 7 minutes flattened a little before turning pan and baking another 7 minutes.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 14, 2013

    Flag

    tasty, didn't flatten out as much as the picture, and i used ancho chili powder, thinking that i didn't want a commercial mixture of chili powder that contains garlic and oregano & cumin.
    has anyone done the same? or how do they rate using a commercial chili powder?
    i added a quarter teaspoon of cardamom to mine also.
    1/14/13
    have made these a couple more times and they are finally like the picture, they will puff up then sink to form a great chewy cookie! didn't add more flour, just a pure chili powder and the cardamon, 1/2 t. this time.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on January 12, 2013

    Flag

    Good flavor. The only change I made was to add a pinch of cloves, next time I'll add more, maybe even a whole 1/4 teaspoon. (For those concerned - I used high quality New Mexican red chili powder, which does not contain oregano/garlic/etc and then also the organic cayenne.

    I'm not sure if this is a high altitude issue or a problem with the recipe, I'm guessing it's the former since nobody else reviewing has this problem. I followed the recipe to a T and it needed more flour. Unfortunately, I eyed the overly moist cookie dough, remembered that some of the other reviews that said that the cookies didn't spread as much as in the picture, and second guessed myself and didn't add more flour. Sure enough my cookies taste great and are extremely moist but are VERY flat. I'd say probably another 1/4 cup of flour would fix that. I will make again, and I may experiment with rolling the cookies in powdered or granulated sugar, maybe in a cinnamon sugar mix, etc.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 23, 2012

    Flag

    Outstanding!! My 5 and 7 year old loved them too. Didn't change a thing. Will be a favorite for sure.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 24, 2012

    Flag

    So delicious....just the right amount of heat...even kids could eat them. Bringing them as thank you to hosts tomorrow.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on September 20, 2012

    Flag

    This is a gift from whoever came up with this recipe! Thank you, whoever you are!!! xx It is a superb cookie for chocolate lovers who love a little kick!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on August 22, 2012

    Flag

    Great recipe. I used bittersweet chips instead of semi, and used a leveled #40 scoop and yielded 36 cookies. I used the 1/4 t of cayenne and it has a lovely after-burn...definitely not too hot though. I also use Penzy's medium chili powder so mine may be a bit hotter than a mild chili powder. This is a great addition for my Christmas Cookie Baking.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on March 21, 2012

    Flag

    Just took the last tray out of the oven...yummy! Can't wait to share them. I love the spicy kick. Have added this to my must make again cookie recipe collection. Thanks for sharing!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.