Spider Cake

Recipe courtesy Zoe Francois

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 8

Showing 1-8 of 8

Sort by:

Newest
  • on October 12, 2013

    Flag

    My biggest thing is instead of testing the egg/sugar mixture for the SMBC, why not tell people the safest way to test this, by a candy thermometer? It needs to read at least 160 degrees to make sure the eggs are properly heated so you do not run the risk of getting people sick, especially kids and pregnant women. Also, I sub buttermilk in for milk in all my cakes....just a preference really : Either way, great recipe!!!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 30, 2012

    Flag

    I made this cake for a halloween party. I followed recipe but not sure what went wrong cake was very dense and dry. Recipe doesn't call for water or oil but I think it could have use more liquid. If any has suggestions please help. Thanks

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 14, 2012

    Flag

    tasty

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 25, 2011

    Flag

    I gave it stars you deserve it. What a fun cake! I only have one objection you did not tell us how to make the spider bodies but we figured it out kind of. We found the spooky pecan spiders and added them to the cake so fun!
    Sorry Knik kiii had trouble, you can use margarine instead of butter in recipes but it will not taste the same but it will work BUT it has to be solid margarine. Not a criticism! helpful advise.

    Thank you Zoe.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 18, 2011

    Flag

    Knikkiii - Country Crock is not butter - it can't be replaced for butter in buttercream. I made this and it came out just fine - if you follow the recipe and use the ingredients listed - it works.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 13, 2011

    Flag

    I decided to surprise my dad with this cake for his birthday after he got home from work today. Fail!

    The marble cake came out great! But it was the buttercream that just ruined it. After mixing my egg whites and sugar, it did not come out light and fluffy like in the picture. Then the recipe calls for 1 1/2 POUNDS of butter? That's half of the butter in my Country Crock tub! I added it anyway (which is 3 cups of butter or 48 tbsp. Afterwards, I added the salt & vanilla.. wait WHAT VANILLA?? The recipe doesn't mention vanilla nor does it mention how much of it should be added!

    In the end the buttercream ended up being runny and not thick or creamy enough to coat a cake with. I'm very disappointed that this recipe has caused a lot of confusion (and failure. Obviously not just in the recipe for buttercream but also for the chocolate & butter ganache (as another user noted.

    p.s. I ended up running to the grocery store and just using Betty Crocker cake frosting. :"( 2 stars!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 11, 2011

    Flag

    Hi msmeic,

    My apologies for the confusion. We are updating the recipe, but in the meantime, all you need to do is melt the chocolate and butter together over a double boiler. Gently whisk them together, until they are smooth.

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention! Best, Zoë François

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on October 03, 2011

    Flag

    the ingredients states chocolate & butter for ganache, but then states cream and corn syrup... what is correct? and if I need the corn syrup & cream, how much is needed??

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Carnival Eats

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.