Traditional Roasted Turkey

Recipe courtesy Voltaggio Brothers
Show: Williams-Sonoma Specials Episode: Voltaggios Take On: Thanksgiving

COMMENT ON THIS PROJECT

    

Sign in

All fields are required.

E-mail Address:

Password:

Remember me on this computer

Signing in

Please enter your email address and we will send your password

E-mail Address

Your password has been sent and should arrive in your mailbox very soon.

Not a member?

Sign up for My Cooking Channel to share photos, show off your style, and connect to an enthusiastic and helpful community.

It's free and easy.

Review This Recipe

You must be logged in to review this recipe.

4

Average Rating:

Total Reviews: 14

Showing 1-10 of 14

Sort by:

Newest
  • on November 23, 2013

    Flag

    Perfect, every time.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 22, 2012

    Flag

    Fourth time I have made this, great recipe. If u want a perfect turkey this is the recipe to use.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on December 07, 2011

    Flag

    Amazing, the herb mayonnaise was the right touch for a juicy succulent and extremely colorful bird. My guests loved it as did I.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 25, 2011

    Flag

    I've been making Thanksgiving dinner for 15 years or more. This turkey was picture perfect. Beautiful to look at, marvelously delish! This recipe will replace the two favorites I have usually used in the past. The brine was a wonderful blend of savory, cinnamon, and citrus flavors (Don't skip this! The mayonaise covered breast (after reading other posts, I used Best Foods, it made the meat tender, juicy and delicious. Family and guests loved it. Other than the jarred mayo, I made no alterations and would not change a thing! Thanks are given to you! Note: The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 was because the directions were somewhat confusing. As another post wrote, you had to read through them carefully to follow them. Also, when you print this, the mayonaise directions don't show. So, I had to read them from the computer while cooking.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 25, 2011

    Flag

    I didn't brine the turkey, and for the rub, I used regular old mayonnaise from the jar and added the fresh chopped herbs.WOW!!! The 30 pound turkey came out moist, succulent and browned beautifully. The guests even took pictures and sent them to their friends. Everyone agreed this was the best turkey they had ever eaten. I will never use oil or butter again. Thank you for making me a turkey rock star Brian.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 25, 2011

    Flag

    What I learned is what my mother always told me, never try a new recipe on guests. I personally needed to take more time to understand this recipe. First issue started with the aoli- acid and oil don't mix, so I ended up using orange rind and it came together. But all in all as adventuresome as it all sounds, sometimes tried and true save the day, brining is always a good thing when it comes to turkey, but my rotisseried spit Turkey is what I know and what I can count on.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 25, 2011

    Flag

    After reading the reviews, I am glad that I was not alone in the land of herb mayonnaise problems. I was determined to make it work so I tried the recipe with three separate machines (blender, immersion blender and kitchen aid mixer with whisk attachment following the recipe to the letter and sadly it never came together (even with an added egg yolk. I had to forgo further efforts as I was against the clock and out of eggs so I had to plan b it with store bought mayonnaise incorporating the orange juice and herbs. The turkey came out fabulous (despite my mayonnaise replacement - juicy and tender and a clear hit at dinner. I will definitely use this recipe again and I am determined to make it with homemade mayo :

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 24, 2011

    Flag

    Everyone enjoyed this! Thanks guys. Used brining bags from W and S and used the Apple and Spice brine sold in store at Williams and Sonoma. Unlike other reviews with the mayo-had NO problems emulsifying. But I used a blender, it actually thickened so quick it shut down the blender ( and it is a really good blender. Put yolks and mustard in, turned on to continuous and slowly added the oil. Worked great. We did not think the meat was too salty like othersmentioned.. Great flavor and moist-even an hour after carving. Used a "make ahead roasted/and simmered turkey wing gravy" (and it was deliciious therefore cant comment on theirs here. The aromas are still lingering. Out of this world and a keeper. Hank yo so much for making me look brilliant with a turkey!

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 24, 2011

    Flag

    Bryan, great recepie! Just finished our Thanksgiving dinner and the turkey was the hit of the day. Very juicy and tender. My wife and I watched your special on TV and decided to give it a try. I followed your recepie to a tee and was concerned at times becuase I had never cooked a turkey. But I hung in there and all went great. It did take me three times to get the herb mayonnaise to thicken up, but I was persistent and the third time was the charm.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
  • on November 24, 2011

    Flag

    Ditto on the mayonnaise with the previous 2 chefs. It's not emulsifying even with an extra egg yolk. Definitely doesn't look like the mayo Bryan used on the show--just an oily liquid. Guess I'll still try it.

    people found this review Helpful.
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
« Previous 1 2 Next »
Advertisement

On TV

*ALL TIMES EASTERN
ON AIR
NOW
TONIGHT
10:00
PM

what's hot

Taco Trip

Get Cooking Channel on your TV.